Contact Us | Member Sign In | Print Page | New Members Portal
The Honsberger Award
Share |

The Honsberger Award

The Honsberger Award is named in honour of John D. Honsberger, President of the Toronto Lawyers Association in 1967-68 and historian of the association’s first 100 years.

This award, to be presented annually to a member of the Toronto Lawyers Association ("TLA”), is in recognition of a single unique accomplishment or ongoing contributions to the legal community and the community at large, exemplifying the TLA’s three pillars: Knowledge, Advocacy and Community.

  • The nominee must be a member in good standing of the TLA, and has been in practice 15 to 25 years.
  • Nominations for this award must be received by the Awards Committee by October 15, 2018
  • The Honsberger Award is presented at the TLA Awards Gala, which will be held on February 27, 2019. 

It differs from the TLA Award of Distinction, which honours a recipient’s lifetime achievement of excellence and contribution to the integrity and worth of the law and the legal profession.

Nomination forms must be returned by October 15, 2018 to the attention of the Executive Director, Joan Rataic-Lang.

See the complete Terms of Reference.
Past Recipients of the Honsberger Award are:
  • 2014:  Megan Shortreed, Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP
  • 2015:  Jeffrey W. Lem, Director of Titles, Ontario Ministry of Government and Consumer Services
  • 2016:  Mark Lichty, Blaney McMurtry LLP
  • 2017:  Stephen Thiele, Gardiner Roberts LLP
  • 2018:  Ian Hull, Hull & Hull LLP