Contact Us | Member Sign In | Print Page | New Members Portal
Awards & Recognition
Share |

The Association recognizes esteemed members of the legal community at its annual ceremony and reception.

The 18th Annual TLA Awards Reception will be held on Thursday, March 8, 2018 at the Omni King Edward Hotel, 37 King Street East, Vanity Fair Ballroom, Toronto.

For information on the 2017 Awards Reception as well as highlights from our past receptions please see our Awards Reception webpage.

TLA Award of Distinction

The TLA Award of Distinction is awarded for excellence of the recipient's contribution to the integrity and worth of the law and to the legal profession. The recipient is chosen by the TLA Board of Trustees.


The 2017 TLA Award of Distinction was awarded to Dale Ponder of Osler LLP. Ms. Ponder is The National Managing Partner and Chief Executive of Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP. 
Read the full press release here.

The Honsberger Award

The Honsberger Award is named in honour of John D. Honsberger, President of the Toronto Lawyers Association in 1967-68 and historian of the association’s first 100 years.  Through his extensive legal scholarship and contributions to the Toronto legal community, Mr. Honsberger exemplifies the three pillars of the TLA: Knowledge, Advocacy and Community.  Among the many honours he has received in over 60 years at the Bar, are the Law Society Medal and the TLA Award of Distinction. In fact, he was the first recipient of both awards.

This award, to be presented annually to a member of the Toronto Lawyers Association ("TLA”), is in recognition of a single unique accomplishment or ongoing contributions to the legal community and the community at large, exemplifying the TLA’s three pillars: Knowledge, Advocacy and Community.


The 2017 Honsberger Award was awarded to Stephen Thiele of Gardiner Roberts LLP. He personifies and represents each of the Three Pillars of the TLA - information, education and advocacy.
Read the full press release here.

Nominations for award recipients are accepted from among the TLA Membership. A call for nominations is sent out annually in late August.  
See the complete Terms of Reference. 

For a list of all distinguished award recipients please click here.