Contact Us | Member Sign In | Print Page | New Members Portal
News & Press: Announcement

TLA Board Announces 2018 Award Recipients

November 7, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Sandra Porter
Share |

The TLA Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the 2018 awards recipients.

TLA Award of Distinction

The 2018 TLA Award of Distinction will be awarded to The Hon. John I. Laskin of the Ontario Court of Appeal.
The TLA Award of Distinction recognizes the recipients' outstanding contribution to the integrity and worth of the law and to the legal profession, through a preeminent and lengthy career.  Justice Laskin has been a judge of the Court of Appeal for Ontario since his appointment directly from practice in 1994.  He had a distinguished career as a litigation lawyer and appellate counsel spanning 23 years before joining the Bench.


The Honsberger Award

The 2018 Honsberger Award will be awarded to Ian M. Hull of Hull & Hull LLP. He personifies and represents each of the Three Pillars of the TLA - Knowledge, Community and Advocacy.  For more than 12 years, Ian has been a generous supporter of the Lawyers Feed the Hungry Program, which is managed by the Law Society Foundation. As Chair of the Board of Directors, he personifies the Foundation's mandate: to serve the public and the legal profession by encouraging and promoting legal education in Ontario; by preserving objects of historic significance to Canada's legal heritage and by reaching out to those in need through the Lawyers Feed the Hungry Program. Ian is a frequent lecturer at various law associations and the author of numerous books and articles.

The 18th Annual TLA Awards Gala will be held on Thursday March 8, 2018 at the Omni King Edward Hotel, 37 King Street East, Toronto.
Tickets available online.  For group bookings, please contact Sandra Porter at (416) 327-5702 or by email.